Sold! Now the problems begin..

As some of you will already know, we have recently sold our home set on almost 3 acres of gardens which I created from a paddock that had been unused for over a decade, but once was part of a dairy and potato farm. The photo below was taken a couple of years ago, and apart from more garden beds and plants, and trees, it is still basically looking like this.

???????????????????????????????

Our intention is to eventually move to warmer climes, in Queensland where I was born and schooled. Preferably central coastal area. I’ve been searching the real estate websites and have earmarked a few beautiful old Queenslander style homes that would scrub up well with a lot of love, sweat, money and no doubt a few tears. Below is a couple of pics of such homes which of course will be sold by the time we are ready to seriously look at buying.

qlder in m'boroqlder in m'boro 1The first of the problems listed for us now, is a biggie – we need to find a rental home here for a few months at least, as my husband would like to see out a few projects he’s involved in with his company before leaving Melbourne. Rentals don’t seem to be too thick on the ground from what I have seen so far, and of course there is always the added issue of our being a 1 dog and 3 cats family. Last time I ever had any reason to rent (many moons ago!) property managers and owners didn’t like pets too much.

Settlement of the sale of our house won’t be finalised till early December so it’s actually too early to get too panicked about finding a rental, although it weighs pretty heavily on my mind every day.

We have packing to do. Some boxes are all ready and waiting to be filled, but I just cannot decide where to start and what to pack yet. Anxiety attacks are common each day when I try to tackle it, but I am sure it will all fall into place soon. Well it will have to won’t it?

My thoughts of this being the right time to sell up have been proven right (for me at least) with the recent works in progress on the paddock next door. The builders are erecting a house quite close to our fence, very quickly. Thank God we won’t be here, is all I can say! The house is barely a metre from our side fence, and I’m betting they will put a tin roof on it too, which will cause an awful glare on those rare sunny days! With almost 3 acres to set their home on, it fedaddles me as to why they chose to build it so close to the front of the block and so damned close to our fence!

???????????????????????????????I am daily thankful I planted conifers along our fenceline before our house was even designed! They do an excellent job of keeping prying eyes from seeing too much of our place. (I know, I’ve been over there and checked it out!).

Nothing ever goes smoothly though and the noise and movements next door have freaked out one of our cats, the eldest, Missy Clarissa who is suddenly too scared to venture out the door. Hence, her toilet habits have been disrupted hugely, and our white carpets and my ensuite have been on the receiving end of her little ‘parcels’. Not nice! I’m beginning to wonder if she will ever settle especially when we move to a rental which is highly likely to be in a much more populated area than we have been living.

little Missy with heart pendantMissy Clarissa is at least 9 years old now, so I forgive her for being a little edgy and in need of privacy. It’s not going to make it any easier living in a rental home though.

I am just going to have to deal with it – this is what we women are good at doing – dealing with issues that are plonked in front of us to try us. As the saying below says:-

big girl panties

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Sold! Now the problems begin..

  1. Suzie Tullett October 10, 2013 at 6:54 am Reply

    Having just moved house myself I know exactly where you’re coming from, Jo. And like you, I too had pets to worry about – two little dogs, Roma and Nanos. It’s a new chapter for you all though and once events start to kick in, hopefully so will a sense of excitement. Good luck in your new home x

    • joskehan October 10, 2013 at 6:57 am Reply

      Thanks Suzie – it’s a bit scary, but I know the excitement will kick in once we have a rental organised…it’s just the unknown that gets to me, lol. xx

  2. Greta van der Rol October 10, 2013 at 7:21 am Reply

    All the best with it, Jo. Shifting is never easy. But at least you’ll be able to offer cash when the time comes. It puts you in a very strong position.

    • joskehan October 10, 2013 at 8:55 am Reply

      That is the one thing that gives me comfort and easiness about the move..but we were in that position when we first moved to Victoria too. This time though, I’ll be going back to where I come from.

  3. TIm October 10, 2013 at 9:40 am Reply

    The problems or the NEW LIFE, I prefer the latter

    • joskehan October 10, 2013 at 9:42 am Reply

      Can’t wait for the New Life actually. xxxx

  4. Carol Matthews October 10, 2013 at 10:06 am Reply

    As my mum would have said, “Just do one day at a time!” As we are selling our house, I know exactly what you mean, had one setback already……… Such a stressful thing, this house moving, however, if we are lucky enough to get the bungalow we want, it will all be worth it, just need to sell our house first, minor detail! Love the look of the Queensland houses, hope you eventually get one, best of luck Jo, try not to stress too much! xxxx

  5. joskehan October 11, 2013 at 6:17 am Reply

    Carol I have my fingers x’d for you. I’m very surprised at how fast our house actually sold, and now of course it seems as if it’s happened before I was ready! I just hope you find a buyer and a lovely house for yourselves very soon. Best of luck always. xx

  6. margueritequantaine October 13, 2013 at 2:58 pm Reply

    First of all, my heart gies out to Missy. I think I’ve said this several times before on Facebook, i.e., it’s a scientific fact a cat’s emotional character is closer to that of a human’s than any other animal on earth – so much of her distress might (also) be knowing how upset you are with the encroaching neighbors. Once that stress is removed from you, and you become your old self who, obviously, loved your home and surroundings, she will probably adapt well to wherever you are.

    Secondly, you sold a lovely home. I understand the upheaval that comes with that. But there’s a certain adventure in change, isn’t there? Those Queensland houses look enviable and oh-so romantic.

    I’m wishing dreams come true, Jo. Missy, too!

  7. joskehan October 14, 2013 at 6:49 am Reply

    Ah thanks Marguerite….and Missy says thank you as well. She is settling down a little, but refuses to go outside when the builders are next door and that’s ok by me….she sits on her favourite chair in the lounge and peers out the window at them, knowing she’s safe. She and I have long and meaningful conversations about it all, and sympathise with each other. Still looking for a rental and hoping to get somewhere that isn’t too populated.
    Yep, the Queenslanders are gorgeous and remind of my childhood and my Gran’s house where we spent most of our lives really. I once said to my sister (both sisters live up there) that I could not understand their living in single storey brick homes!! Living in Qld would require living in a Queenslander in my opinion – no ifs or buts about it!!

  8. Jane Risdon October 14, 2013 at 5:00 pm Reply

    Moved more times than I care to count over the years but last time we had been in our house 30 years so we had a lot of stuff to get rid of. Happy packing and moving. What a lovely home to be leaving. I hope you find what you seek, and the sunshine too.

  9. joskehan October 15, 2013 at 2:41 am Reply

    Jane in my experience of moving (many times also) it never gets any easier! Distance doesn’t seem to alter the difficulties and stress either. I threw so much stuff out when I moved here from Perth so you would think there would be less to pack this time, but no, we have added more ‘stuff’ (especially books!) over the 6yrs we have been here. I’m doing the packing very methodically this time though, which is the best part of doing it myself. When you hire someone to do it all for you, it’s a mystery at the other end as to what is in each box apart from a very generic description. Finding a rental to move to down here in the meantime is the next hassle – hopefully it will all fall into place soon.

Leave a comment